Live Webinar: How to Train Your Schedulers to Retain More Caregivers | Thursday, November 18th at 2pm ET
Get a Live Demo

Handling Complaints

Course Syllabus

This inservice provides caregivers with an overview of the many emotional losses facing people as they age, including loss of health, loss of productivity, loss of loved ones, loss of home, and mobility loss. Provides tips for how nursing assistants can make these emotional transitions easier for their elderly clients.


Describe the five basic stages of the grieving process.
List at least five physical symptoms of grief.
List at least five emotional symptoms of grief.
Describe at least three different types of emotional losses experienced by older adults.
Demonstrate your understanding of this inservice in your daily communications with elderly clients.

Audio: No
Course Length: 1 hour(s)
Audience: Home Health Aide; Hospice Aide; Nurse Assistant - CNA; Personal Care Aide
CE Credit: 1 hour(s)
CE Approval Statement: In the Know is an approved provider of online CNA continuing education in 49 states. (Exception: The state of Delaware provides free continuing education to all Delaware CNAs.)
Disclosures: The authors, planners and reviewers of this educational activity declare no conflicts of interest with this activity. There are no commercial interests or sponsorships related to this educational activity.

Course Additional Information

  • Categories:


    Course Code: ITK1040104

    Available in PDF: Yes

    State Code: FL BON CE Provider#: 50-16953, Topic Approval Code: 20-547187; CDPH Approval: NAC# 7036; WA DSHS CE Code: CO1627757